{"id":5298,"date":"2025-12-15T10:26:53","date_gmt":"2025-12-15T16:26:53","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/www.eastcentral.edu\/learning-center\/?page_id=5298"},"modified":"2025-12-15T11:06:48","modified_gmt":"2025-12-15T17:06:48","slug":"microsoft-office-tips-tricks","status":"publish","type":"page","link":"https:\/\/www.eastcentral.edu\/learning-center\/learning-resources\/microsoft-office-tips-tricks\/","title":{"rendered":"Microsoft Office Tips & Tricks"},"content":{"rendered":"\n

Microsoft Word<\/h2>\n\n\n\n
Function<\/th>Instructions<\/th><\/tr><\/thead>
Selection Techniques<\/td>Select a sentence –<\/strong> Control + Click

Nonadjacent selection –<\/strong> Control + drag to highlight

Vertical selection –<\/strong> Alt + Drag Selection bar

Select a line –<\/strong> Click once

Select a paragraph –<\/strong> Click twice

Select the entire document –<\/strong> Click three times

Open page setup dialog box –<\/strong> Double-click ruler<\/td><\/tr>
Formatting<\/td>Format Painter –<\/strong> Clipboard group-click once or click twice to use multiple times

Increase or Decrease Font –<\/strong> Control + Shift + < or >

Clear formatting –<\/strong> Tool in Font group.
Control + Q (paragraph formatting)
Control Spacebar (character formatting)

Ligature font –<\/strong> Gabriola, Style set 6 or 7<\/td><\/tr>
Best Shortcut Ever<\/td>Displays the save dialog box –<\/strong> F12<\/td><\/tr>
Undo<\/td>Control + Z<\/td><\/tr>
Redo<\/td>Control + Y<\/td><\/tr>
Insert Page Break<\/td>Control + Enter<\/td><\/tr>
Character Format<\/td>Bold –<\/strong> Control + B
Italic –<\/strong> Control + I
Underline –<\/strong> Control + U<\/td><\/tr>
Repeats an Action<\/td>F4<\/td><\/tr>
Create Random Text<\/td>Generate random text =rand() or number of paragraphs and lines =rand(10,5)<\/td><\/tr>
Table of Contents<\/td>Apply headings from the Home Tab.
References > Table of Contents<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n

Microsoft Excel<\/h2>\n\n\n\n
Function<\/th>Instructions<\/th><\/tr><\/thead>
Remove Duplicates<\/td>Data > Remove Duplicates<\/td><\/tr>
Freeze Headings<\/td>View > Freeze Panes > Freeze Top Row or First Column<\/td><\/tr>
Print Titles<\/td>Page Layout > Print Titles<\/td><\/tr>
Data Validation (drop down)<\/td>Data > Data Validation<\/td><\/tr>
Copy by Example (Flash Fill)<\/td>Control + E or Data > Flash Fill<\/td><\/tr>
Format Multiple Worksheets<\/td>Select Multiple Tabs (control + click); changes are made to all selected sheets<\/td><\/tr>
Linking Worksheets<\/td>Click in cell.
Type =
Switch to sheet that contains data to link and press Enter<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n

Microsoft PowerPoint<\/h2>\n\n\n\n
Functions<\/th>Instructions<\/th><\/tr><\/thead>
Set Transparent Color<\/td>Click on image.
Picture Format > Color > SetTransparent Color<\/td><\/tr>
Remove Background<\/td>Click on image.
Picture Format > Remove Background<\/td><\/tr>
Fill Text with Graphic<\/td>Insert Text Box, enter text.
Increase font.
Click on Text Box.
Shape Format > Text Fill > Picture
Choose desired picture.<\/td><\/tr>
Using WordArt to Fill Text with Segmented Graphic<\/td>Insert > WordArt > Choose a Text Style
Enter approximately 12 hyphens.
Select the Text Box and increase font size to approximately 200.
Shape Format > Text Effects > Transform
Choose desired Warp option.
Shape Format > Text Fill > Picture
Choose desired picture.<\/td><\/tr>
Video Behind Text<\/td>Insert > Video > Online Videos
Choose desired video for background.
Insert > Text Box > Draw large rectangle
Enter your text.
Insert > Shape
Draw large rectangle over Text Box, size to same dimensions.
Select Text Box and Shape (use Shift for multiple selections)
Shape Format > Merge Shapes > Combine<\/td><\/tr><\/tbody><\/table><\/figure>\n\n\n\n